In 1987 the Suffolk County Democratic Committee through its Chair, Dominic Baranello, officially authorized a Democratic Club in the Town of Southampton. The Club’s first President was a gifted young Democrat with a future in politics – John P. Spata, the Vice Chair of the Southampton Town Democratic Committee. After John’s untimely death in his early twenties, his mother and long time political activist, Joan Farrell, became the Club’s second President, and Committee Chair Baranello named the Club in honor of John. Subsequent Presidents Marion Boden, Charleen Murphy, Thomas Henry, Grania Brolin, and Joy Flynn (current) have pursued the Club’s established goals of providing a forum for discussion of issues of concern to Southampton Town residents.

Meeting nine times a year to present informed speakers on a range of social and political issues, the John P. Spata Southampton Democratic Club has evolved into a strong organization with considerable impact on the community. The Club supports local candidates by offering them a public forum and through financial contributions. In addition the Club has supported a number of charitable organizations by helping to raise funds in support of their activities.

Recent programs offered at the John P. Spata Southampton Democratic Club’s monthly meetings demonstrate the diversity of our members’ concerns.

2018 Speakers:

January: Canceled due to weather
February: Let’s Visit Lee Zeldin: Strategies for Creating a Grass-Roots Movement
Speaker: Eileen Duffy, Author and Activist

History of our Speakers history